Weekly Workout

The focus for the next few weeks is going to be mainly cardio with a little bit of core work thrown in. I really want to focus on getting some of the weight off before getting deeper into toning. I know that there are different schools of thought on the subject of strength training and weight loss, but when I worked with a trainer a few years ago we focused on getting lots of cardio in first. My husband has also suggested this strategy as it worked for him the past. So I’m giving it a chance and monitoring the outcome.

This week my workout schedule looks like this:

Sunday – cardio for 60 minutes

Monday – cardio for 50 minutes, abs & core work

Tuesday – rest – date night with the hubby!

Wednesday – cardio for 50 minutes (morning workout)

Thursday – cardio for 50 minutes, abs & core work

Friday – cardio for 50 minutes (morning workout)

I’ll be visiting my family in southern NJ for the weekend so I haven’t set a workout for Saturday or Sunday. I am hoping to get in at least one walk/jog in the park near my brother’s house, but I’m also trying to be realistic. 

So far, I’ve stayed on track this week. I am not someone who likes to work out in the morning, but I had errands to run on Wednesday after work and I’m leaving for NJ tomorrow evening, so I knew I had to schedule them in for the morning. Getting up early on Wednesday wasn’t so bad even though I had major trouble falling and staying asleep. Sometimes my mind just WILL NOT TURN OFF. It was a nice change seeing the gym relatively empty (at least until 6:30). And of course it was great to be finished my workout so early in the day, but I find that I just don’t have the same amount of energy and the workouts feel so much harder first thing in the morning. I definitely won’t be changing my evening routine any time soon, but it’s nice to know that I CAN go before work and make it through the day just fine.

Leave a Reply

