Weekly Round Up

I’m happy to report that it’s been a successful week even after catching a crappy summer cold. I lost a total of 4.6 pounds! I tracked all my food and stayed within my prescribed 1500-1850 daily calorie range. I hit my cardio target of 300 minutes for the week and supposedly burned 2565 calories.  I’m not sure how accurate the calorie counters on the cardio machines are, but whatever the actual number is, it worked.

As much as I hate tracking food and counting calories, I think it was the key for me this week. I didn’t change what I usually eat, but I did cut down on the snacking and the picking at things as I cook. It made me much more mindful of what I was eating and why. I was happy to see that my meals mostly fell into the 50% carbs, 30% fats, 20% protein ratio since that means I don’t need to do much tweaking of what I’ve been eating.

The biggest challenge this week was staying away from the cookies! I work in higher education administration and my office is full of sweets during the semester. We have one professor who loves to bake. This week we were blessed with oatmeal chocolate chip cookies and peanut butter cookies. I managed to limit myself to two of each, but it was SO difficult to resist. Luckily I had a lot of fruit and yogurt stored in the fridge and so I made sure to fill up on those before I even let myself touch a cookie. This coming week will probably be filled with donuts and other baked goods because our professors like to bring snacks in for the first week of class. I MUST stay strong!

A new week brings new opportunities!

Leave a Reply

