Couch to 5K Week 2, Workout 1

Despite the brutally cold weather for the past few days I managed to get myself to the gym to start week 2 of the Couch to 5K program last night. I consider this a small victory since my very handsome husband was warmly nestled in our bed when I got home from work and it would have been oh so easy to stay home and join him for a cuddle session. But no! The challenge of beginning week 2 was calling me.

The nice thing about C25K is that it starts off pretty easy. Even so, last night’s work out was a little challenging. I know from experience that by day 3 it will feel easy again and I’ll be ready for the next round. I find it hard to believe that in a little less than 7 weeks I’ll be running a 5K, but many people swear by this program, so we’ll see. Happily, I am becoming more comfortable on the treadmill and less afraid that I’m going to trip or fall off. Last night I was able to keep an eye on the news while jogging instead of staring intently at the treadmill display terrified that one wrong move will have me flying off the machine. I really have no idea where this fear comes from. I love all the other cardio machines and am one of the first people to try out a new one. I’m sure it will get better over the next few weeks and I’ll be laughing at the memory of the deathgrip I currently use on the handrails at the beginning of each session.

Tonight I have regular 50 minute cardio session followed by some core work lined up. Relatively easy and fun. Yes, I am one of those weirdos who actually likes the gym! Pretty much always have been. I was bummed to discover that my favorite Zumba teacher is leaving us. I haven’t tried out the other teacher, but I will eventually. Zumba is such a nice change from the machine workouts.

Leave a Reply

