Post-Blizzard 2013

We had quite an end to the week here in the Northeast. Luckily, NYC and its outer boroughs weren’t hit too bad. I’d say we got about 8 to 10 inches of snow in my neighborhood. Parts of Long Island and Connecticut were not so lucky, and my friends in Boston are posting some amazing pictures!

The snow, as well as some other unexpected events, threw a small wrench into my workout plans for the week. I completed C25K week 4, workout 1 on Tuesday. Wednesday night my husband and I went to get our taxes done after I got home from work. Thursday night I was invited to happy hour with a few former classmates from my now-defunct Turkish class. It was so much fun and well worth the lost workout and extra beer calories! Friday night was supposed to be week 4, workout 2, but it was sloppy and miserable from the impending blizzard and I had absolutely no desire to trek to the gym once I made it home from work.

So, yesterday ended up being the day I completed workout 2, which means I won’t get to workout 3 until tomorrow (Monday) night. As long as I can stick to Wednesday, Friday, Sunday for week 5, I should be back on track. Week 4 has been pretty awesome. I feel really good during the longer jogging intervals. In fact, there have been times when I considered jogging through the walking intervals, but I decided to stick with the plan instead. I’ve discovered that the music choice really makes a difference and I’m only slightly embarrassed to admit that Britney Spears seems to work the best for me. Seriously.

One of the greatest benefits I’ve realized so far is that I can really only compete with myself at this point. There is no way I can compare myself to the woman running next to me or the guy running down the street this early on in the game. I love that. It’s really very freeing and has helped me to lose any self-consciousness when hopping on the treadmill next to someone is easily going twice my speed and barely breaking a sweat. I’m able to completely shut that out and be happy and proud of my own performance at the end of each session.

I really didn’t expect to like this as much as I do. I’m excited to see how far I can take it!

Leave a Reply

