Happy Valentine’s Day!

Ah, Valentine’s Day: so many haters, so many fans, so much pressure on everyone…I’ve honestly never been a huge fan of the holiday, but I have to admit I am a sucker for all the hearts and flowers. I really wish more people would make it about love in all its forms, rather just romantic. Why not celebrate love of friends and family and self? I spent a lot of years being single and sad on this date angrily glaring at the happy couples walking down the street, rolling my eyes at the co-worker who had a dozen roses delivered to her cubicle. But as I got a little older I decided that I could enjoy Valentine’s Day with or without a boyfriend. I decided to enjoy the way the reds, pinks, flowers, and balloons gave the grey, cold city a little color and joy for a day or two. I decided to treat myself to that bottle of wine, that decadent dessert, that sushi for dinner from my favorite place. And you know what? It was awesome because it was exactly what I wanted and I had no worries of being disappointed! Heaven, I tell you.

happy-valentines-day

Lately I’ve been trying to view it as an opportunity to honor my friendships and to let the people I care about most know that they’re loved. That’s not to say that I don’t also celebrate the romantic aspects with my husband. Who doesn’t like to feel appreciated and special? We actually celebrated yesterday because he had to work tonight. We’ve agreed that in the future even if one of us is not working on Valentine’s day we will celebrate it either the day before or the day after – less crowds, no overpriced prix fixe dinner, etc.

So tonight I showed myself some love by getting to the gym and starting week 5 of the C25K program. Somehow I found this week to be easier than week 4. My guess is that it’s because there were less walking intervals so it wasn’t as difficult to switch back to jogging again. The best part was I got my pick of treadmills because the gym was pretty empty. My favorite spot is on in an area of floor to ceiling windows. I can’t get enough of the people watching!

I hope you all have (had) a great Valentine’s Day and showed yourself a little love regardless of your romantic situation. We all deserve it!

 

Leave a Reply

