New Look, New Milestone

I felt like it was time to freshen up the look of this blog, so I switched to a new format. I definitely like it better, but I need to find (or take) a better picture for the background. Please bear with me while I figure it all out!

Interesting week with C25K. Workout number 1 was pretty easy. I mistakenly thought that workout number 2 would be the same since all three workouts of each week had been the same up until this point. On Saturday I made the mistake of hitting the gym a little later than usual and actually had to wait for a treadmill. I could have hopped on one upstairs, but I’ve come to realize that I just can’t use the treadmill unless I’m looking out the window and there are no windows to look out of upstairs. After waiting for about ten minutes, a treadmill opened up and I happily started my workout not even glancing at my app after pressing start. After the five minute warm-up I was told to begin running and did so with no problem. One song went by; then two. “Hmm, that’s weird. I should be walking now, I think.” I glance down to see I still have 3 minutes of running left. “What? Am I somehow on the wrong week?!?” My next thought surprised me because I decided to just go with it and see what happens. When it was time to start walking again I picked up my phone for a closer look and saw that I was on the right workout, it was just different from the one before. “Sneaky bastards,” I muttered to myself with a smile.

I finished workout 2 just fine and then my jaw dropped when I saw what was in store for workout 3: 20 minutes, no walking intervals. Huh. It seemed like quite a leap to go from 8 minutes to 20 minutes. (This is the point where all you real runners are probably thinking I am a wimp and I will whole-heartedly agree. A runner, I am not.) Well, I spent all day yesterday and most of this morning psyching myself up for workout 3. I knew that I could do it physically, but that mentally was a whole other story. I even told myself that if I really, really feel like I need to walk I will let myself walk for 90 seconds once or twice. Somewhat surprisingly, I never walked! I made it through the whole 20 minutes and the only time it felt like a struggle was during the last 3 minutes or so. I was shocked and quite pleased. I still am!

And I’m really looking forward to Week 6, workout 1 on Wednesday. It’s back to intervals and now seems like it will be a piece of cake.

One thought on “New Look, New Milestone

Leave a Reply

