C25K Week 6 Complete

So I finished week 6 today and I have to say I feel pretty accomplished! I focused on increasing my speed slightly for workout 1 and 2, and I was able to complete workout 3 (22 minutes of continuous running) at my new speed without having to slow down at all. I am seriously enjoying this program. I never thought I would be someone who actually likes to run, but I find myself looking forward to my runs. I just hope that continues after I finish the program 2 weeks from now. I think it will as long as I set small goals and challenges for myself. Increasing my speed will definitely be the first challenge on the list.

Now that I’m working my way up to longer periods of running I hope to start seeing some weight loss as well. I need to re-focus on my calorie-intake and workouts on my non-running days. I didn’t want to overwhelm myself with all of these things when I first started the program because I knew I would get frustrated if I didn’t see the weight dropping and I didn’t want that to be a reason to quit running. So this week it’s back to basics: making sure I get enough protein, veggies, and fruits; limiting carbs and processed foods. Not that I wasn’t doing that already – it’s pretty much the way I eat in general – but I was having dessert more often than I should and my husband convinced me to get pizza with him a few too many times. 😮 I have to admit, it’s frustrating when I read about people who lost tons of weight by cutting out soda or walking everywhere, etc. For years and years now I  drink only water at home (coffee in the mornings), walk at least 2 miles a day on my commute alone, work out 4 to 6 times a week, and eat mostly whole foods and lean protein. None of that has ever lead to a huge weight loss! Sigh. I really hope that running along with a more vigilant eye toward my food choices will be the magic combination I need once and for all.

Here’s to a great week ahead!

2 thoughts on “C25K Week 6 Complete

  1. Oh, that’s great! I’m pretty sure you’ll be fine. There were a few times where I thought there is no way I’ll be able to do the next workout, but I was wrong. It seems to really work! Tomorrow is week 7, workout 1 – 25 minutes. I’ll be sure to post about it sometime this week.

    Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

