On the Right Track

Happy St. Patrick’s Day to all my Irish and non-Irish readers! Being of the Irish persuasion myself, I indulged in a little Irish soda bread and corned beef hash this weekend, but sadly stayed away from the beer. Don’t get me wrong, I love a cold pint every once in a while, but it just wasn’t in the cards this weekend.

What was in the cards was intervals for speed and more running! Like I mentioned earlier this week, I completed the C25K program on Tuesday. Thanks to some guidance both here and on Twitter I found a few interval workouts to try in order to increase my pace. On Friday, I tried the NHS C25K + speed podcast that Never too late recommended. It was pretty tough, but I can see how it will help and so I plan on incorporating it into my weekly workouts. On Saturday I did 45 minutes on the elliptical for a slight change of pace. Today I ran for 30 minutes at a slightly faster speed than my past runs and I threw in some mini-intervals as well.

I’m really starting to see a difference in my body lately. My food choices are getting better day by day (Irish goodies aside). I just feel very positive and on the right track. It’s been great!

I’ve also started meditating regularly again. Meditation is such a great tool to help us find balance and peace. I really regret the times when I let the practice slip away. I started back up again using these guided meditations from Oprah and Deepak’s 21 Day Meditation Challenge. I have to admit, it’s been a really helpful program so far. If you are even slightly interested, I would urge you to check it out and give it a shot.

We are revving up for a particularly busy time at work for the next month, so in preparation, I have vacation days scheduled for tomorrow and Tuesday of this week. I’m looking forward to sleeping in for a few extra days, spending some quality time with my husband (Tuesday and Wednesday are his “weekend” days), and getting to the gym. I want to really cement all of these healthy habits in place before life gets a bit more crazy. I’m going to do everything I can to stay on track!

2 thoughts on “On the Right Track

  1. Enjoy your leave, it sounds like the calm before the storm :-).
    Im sure you’ll be well prepared with that meditation programme.
    here’s to a time when you can indulge in a cheeky half (pint) 😉

Leave a Reply

