Say it Ain’t Snow!

Apologies for the cheesy title, but I am so over this winter. Spring officially begins tomorrow and yet it snowed again last night. We’ve been lucky this winter in that we haven’t had much accumulation, but I’m still getting tired of seeing snow on the ground. Come on, warmer days!

Despite the annoying weather I made it to Zumba last night. The instructor was new to me, but she was great. It was probably one of the most fun Zumba classes I’ve taken to date. I am definitely going to make Monday night Zumba a regular occurrence in my weekly workout schedules. I was sweating almost as much as I do after a 30 minute run and grinning just as much for sure!

Today is the last day of my very extended weekend. I once again stayed in pajamas until close to noon and then got myself to the gym for some speed work followed by 20 minutes on the elliptical. This was only my second attempt at intervals, but I definitely felt a difference. Both times my legs felt great running faster. My heart and lungs more easily kept up this time around. I just might reach my first goal of running 12 minute miles by the end of this month after all.

I’ve been doing a lot introspection and journal writing lately. I’m hoping to become brave enough to share some of that here in the near future. For now, I just want to say that I feel like something has shifted. I feel ready to really put in the hard work and discipline necessary to reach my goals. I know that it may take longer than I’d like, but I also know that if I really stick with it and adapt more healthy habits I will achieve whatever I want to achieve. For me, the hardest part is not necessarily the exercise and the eating right. Rather, it’s the emotional component which often knocks me down and off track. I’m taking a hard look at all of those triggers and figuring out how to stop them, or at least lessen the damage that they cause.

Leave a Reply

