Dealing with Setbacks

Guys, it’s not a good idea to not run for an extended period of time if  you can help it! I encountered this life lesson yesterday when I hopped on the treadmill for an interval session after about two weeks. The first week was because my left hamstring was really tight and sore for a few days.  I was afraid it was going to turn into a serious injury if I pushed it, so I gave myself a few extra rest days and then stuck to the elliptical when working out. The second week was a result of long, stressful days at work where mentally I could only accept elliptical workouts or Zumba. So, when I finally decided to get a run in, my body acted like it had never run a day in its life!

First I used the elliptical for thirty minutes and then switched to the treadmill. I had planned on doing some intervals using one of the C25K workouts where I would go slow during the “run” portions and speed up during the walk portions. After the first round it quickly became clear that I would have to slow down both interval speeds if I wanted to survive. The one positive thing from this was that, instead of getting mad at myself for a pretty pathetic run, I accepted the fact that I lost some of my endurance and would have to work to get it back. So my plan now is to take the next week or two to work back up to where I was before by returning to the C25K plan.

Today was not going to be a running day, but when I got to the gym, my favorite treadmill was free and so I decided to do a quick, easy 15 minutes to warm up and remind myself what running feels like. My hamstring was a little sore again, but it felt much better a few minutes in. I was happy with the 15 minutes and avoided the temptation to keep going. Then I fit in another 30 minute elliptical session.

These next two weeks are going to be my busiest yet. I am really hoping to get in some workouts nevertheless. I’m planning on some early morning workouts this week. I am not a morning person, but it’s pretty much the only way I can fit them in with the exception of Zumba tomorrow night. I’ll be visiting my family in southern New Jersey next weekend and am pretty sure I won’t be getting in any runs. So I really need to get myself moving during the week. I have a feeling this is going to be a coffee-filled, hectic few weeks!

Leave a Reply

