Confessions

I seem to have fallen out of the blogging habit (among other things) this month. I have no excuse other than work and life got extremely busy and I lost my exercise/running mojo. The last time I posted I mentioned hurting my hamstring. I eased myself back into working out for another week and managed to get my runs or other cardio sessions in before work during the first week that I knew I’d have to work late.

Then I went to NJ to for a visit with my family. It was an exhausting weekend physically and emotionally which left me totally depleted and unmotivated during the second stressful work week. There is much to think and write about the old issues and habits that re-appear almost every time I visit my family, but I’ll save that for another post.

This past week I had wanted to focus on regaining my running endurance, but I came down with a horrible chest cold on Tuesday and was only able to go out for a short walk today without feeling exhausted. So much for April and my training plans!

I did do a pretty good job on the food front – lots of salads, soups, and vegetarian dishes. I really feel so much better when I stick to veggie heavy diet. Sometimes just looking at a colorful salad before I eat it raises my spirits.

I’m definitely on the mend and am looking forward to getting back to the gym tomorrow. I have vacation days scheduled until Thursday of this week so I will have plenty of time to rest afterwards. This cold seriously kicked my butt, but I can’t say I didn’t enjoy the opportunity to lay on the couch and watch Netflix all of yesterday and today! I’m now obsessed with “Pretty Little Liars” which is admittedly a show for teenagers (my 18 year old sister watches it), but  is seriously entertaining. I can’t stop hitting play. I also can’t stop admiring  one of the actress’s (Lucy Hale’s) hair. I’ve been practicing my curling technique all weekend as a result.

Lucy Hale

 

Sadly, I think I’m pretty close at this point. This is what happens when I have too much time and not enough energy to leave the house. 🙂 With any luck and a lot vitamin C we’ll be back to our regularly scheduled programming shortly.

Leave a Reply

