Back to Basics

Well, folks, it took a little bit longer than I anticipated, but I’m finally cold free and back to my normal energy levels. What a ridiculously long-lingering cold that was! I spent the majority of my vacation days sniffling, coughing and napping on the couch. I did manage to drag myself into the city for happy hour with two former co-workers and discovered that hot toddies are a seriously amazing remedy for a cold. I realize I’m a little late to the game considering my Irish heritage, but I’ve now found my go-to drink during cold season!

On my final vacation day the hubby and I went out for brunch (my favorite meal) and planned on seeing a movie in the afternoon. We ended up cuddling and napping instead. Womp womp. But we redeemed ourselves later with a long stroll around the neighborhood and a Netflix DVD. It was actually the perfect way to spend my final day off.

I didn’t make it back to the gym until yesterday. Even then I struggled a bit with all the coughing, but it felt SO good to be exercising again. I went back again today and hit the treadmill. Knowing that I’ve lost a bunch of stamina both physically and mentally, I decided to do Week 4, Day 1 of the C25K program. It was a great choice. Not too easy and not too challenging. I felt happy and strong throughout the entire workout. That’s a good thing since my first official 5K is coming up on June 12th! As coincidence would have it, I received my first issue of Runner’s World this week and there is a 5 week training plan for running a 5K. I have just about 5 weeks before mine. I’ve adapted it a little bit using some of the C25K program workouts along with changing some of the rest days based on my schedule. I’m determined to stick with this plan since I would really, really like to run at least half of the 5k next month. Fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

