When Life Throws You for a Loop

Aaand we’re back!

I truly didn’t think it would take me almost seven months to return to a state of normalcy, but here we are. I’ve learned a lot about myself, my family, and life in general during this unbelievably difficult time. I know it’s such a cliche, but you really do discover who your friends are and who you can count on in times like this. My father’s death brought about a lot of changes – mostly good- for all of us. My brothers and I are a lot closer now, which is nice. One of them got engaged in September and I was asked to be the matron (what a horrible word!) of honor. My husband has been an amazing source of strength and sanity as I unravel the millions of responsibilities I have as the executrix of the estate and as I worked on closing my father’s practice from about a hundred miles away. There are a lot of opportunities for changes on the horizon now, and I’m looking forward to taking advantage of them one at a time.

The one thing that has surprised me the most is my resiliency. As a teenager and young adult I periodically battled depression. Even in my late twenties/early thirties there were some periods of struggle. These past few months, though, have not been as bad as I feared. I have some seriously low and dark days, of course, but I’ve been able to keep going and actually enjoying life along the way.  I think one of the keys was recognizing the value in really taking care of myself and giving myself whatever I needed to heal. I took a first degree Reiki training course which has helped me both physically and spiritually. I bought myself a membership to a spa so that I can get a monthly massage. My husband and I went on a mini-vacation to Atlantic City at the end of the summer. I’ve allowed myself to say no to things I just didn’t feel like doing and to be a homebody as much as I wanted/needed. Showing myself some real compassion has been pretty eye-opening.

Through all of this, I only gained about five pounds. In January, I re-committed myself to getting healthy. I’ve been working out between 4 and 5 days a week. I found an amazing Zumba class that I absolutely hate to miss. I’m training for another 5k in April. (Side note: I ran/walked an Electric Run 5k in September which was a ton of fun!) I’ve been eating clean about 80% of the time and I’ve lost eight pounds since the beginning of January.

I hope to be back here regularly. I feel like I have a lot to share and I want to keep a record of when I meet the various goals that I have set (more on that later).  I also really enjoy the inspiration I find in reading about other people’s journeys. Here’s to more blogging in 2014!

Leave a Reply

